The Federal electorate of Capricornia takes its name from the Tropic of Capricorn which passes through this part of Central Queensland.

The size:

Capricornia covers an area of about 91,049 square kilometers. It stretches from Yeppoon on the Capricorn Coast to the inland cattle and coalfields districts of Clermont, Dysart, and as far as far west as Belyando and North West to Collinsville.

The electorate includes the City of Rockhampton, a portion of West Mackay and Walkerston and the towns of Yeppoon, Emu Park, Keppel Sands, Dysart, Middlemount, Moranbah, Nebo, Clermont, Collinsville, Glenden, Marlborough, St Lawrence, Ogmore, Camila, Koumala, Clairview, Mirani and Sarina.

Offshore islands, including Great Keppel are also included in this division.

Products/industries of the area:
Major industries include coal and gas exports, beef, sugar, pineapples, fishing, meat processing, tourism and the Great Barrier Reef and military and defense training.

The area is known as the Beef Capital of Australia. Capricornia is home to most of Queensland’s key coal mining operations.

First proclaimed/first election:

Federal Members:

Elected Federal members since 1901

Landry, Michelle (LNP) 2013–current member
Livermore, K (ALP) 1998–2013
Marek, P (NP) 1996–1998
Henzell, M M (ALP) 1993–1996
Wright, K W (ALP) 1984–1993
Everingham, D N (ALP) 1977–1984
Carige, C L (NCP) 1975–1977
Everingham, D N (ALP) 1967–1975
Gray, G H (ALP) 1961–1967
Pearce, H G (LP) 1949–1961
Davidson, C W (LP) 1946–1949
Forde, F M (ALP) 1922–1946
Higgs, W (ALP) 1910–1922
Archer, E W (ANTI-SOC) 1906–1910
Thomson, D A (ALP) 1903–1906
Paterson, A (IND) 1901–1903

Click here to download the Capricornia Map